Restaurant Review · Travels

Bier Garten Riverwalk

Bier Garten Riverwalk is located in downtown San Antonio near the Alamo in the Riverwalk District.

It is an authentic German restaurant with a wide variety of beers to choose from and a small, but good menu. There is limited seating inside the building, but lots of seating outside by the water.

The staff were very friendly and dressed in traditional, German garb. There is a large German population around this part of TX, but none of the staff I spoke to could actually speak German.

I tried one of every Wurst available: Bratwurst, Polish, Knockwurst, Weisswurst und a Nuremburg wurst wheel. Actually, I tried just a bite or two of every wurst. I couldn’t eat this all by myself, so I brought a couple #FoodieBuddies with me to help out. We ordered more than enough food for all three of us!

A bratwurst, polish and knockwurst with mashed potatoes, kraut balls, bier cheese, sauerkraut and large, Bavarian style pretzels

There were two more wurst not included on this dish; a weisswurst and a Nuremburg wurst wheel. I love weisswurst and though I’ve had (and really enjoyed) Nuremburg style wurst before, I’d never had it in a wheel form!

“In the area of Germany where I used to live, weisswurst is the sausage they used to make the the popular German street food, currywurst.” #SteveSpeaks
Nuremburg sausage wheel

The Nuremburg wurst wheel was only available as a sandwich. It was on a huge (but not big enough) bun, smothered in bier cheese with bacon infused onions. It was a meal unto itself! #Recommended

Of all the German (and Austrian) restaurants I’ve visited on my travels this summer; Biergarten Riverwalk was the most authentic looking and tasting one that I experienced. That, and the setting in downtown San Antonio next to the riverwalk was absolutely gorgeous!

#NatsJourneys #FoodieFriday #CulinaryAdventures #ExploreYourCity #SanAntonioTX #RestaurantReview #HighlyRecommended

One-Time
Monthly
Yearly

Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount

¤5.00
¤10.00
¤20.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00

Or enter a sporadic amount


Your contribution to Nat’s Journeys is greatly appreciated!

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

Leave a comment