Restaurant Review

Sandwich Bowl

I first heard about (and decided to visit) Sandwich Bowl when I saw an advertisement about their pickle sandwiches. The idea of replacing the bread on a sandwich with a hollowed out pickle intrigued me.

I had heard of these so called “picklewiches” before and had wanted to try them. Now a local establishment (ok, ok…an establishment a couple towns over from where I live) had decided to offer them for a limited time. I knew this was my chance!

A club picklewich
The picklewich was cut in half for easier eating
Bacon and turkey falling out the side

Several of their cold sandwiches were offered as picklewiches. I chose the club sandwich: ham, turkey, bacon, white cheddar, lettuce and tomato. As you can see by the pics, they really stuffed the meat and cheese into it. The bacon was so abundant it began to fall out side of the hollowed out pickle bun before I even took a bite.

The club picklewich was incredibly messy, but absolutely delicious! I was afraid the hollowed out pickle bun would override the other flavors, but thankfully I was wrong. It was a perfectly balanced sandwich.

I ordered the soup of the day, beef stew, as a side. It was warm and tasty. A perfect side to go with my cold picklewich. Unfortunately it was mostly vegetables: potato, carrot, celery Only two pieces of beef were included in my cup of soup.

Better Than Sex cake

For dessert I ordered a piece of “Better Than Sex” cake. It was a chocolate cake base with fudge and chocolate chips and a whipped frosting and caramel. Definitely deliciously decadent, but I think the name is false advertising. 🤷‍♂️😂

My culinary adventure to Sandwich Bowl in Lawrence was a pleasant experience. The staff was very friendly, the decor was interesting and the food was quite good. They had several other sandwiches that I would like to try, so I’ll be stopping by here again the next time I come through Lawrence, KS. Until next time “Happy Dining”!

#KCFoodie #CulinaryAdventures #ExploreYourCity #LawrenceKS #FoodieFridays #RestaurantReview #SaladBowl #NatApproved #Recommended

One-Time
Monthly
Yearly

Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount

¤5.00
¤10.00
¤20.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00
¤5.00
¤15.00
¤100.00

Or enter a sporadic amount


Your contribution to Nat’s Journeys is greatly appreciated!

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

Leave a comment